Barack Obama: “No More Dangerous Than Alcohol” Is Opinion, Not Fact

Barack Obama's statement that pot is “No More Dangerous Than Alcohol” Is Opinion, Not Fact | Cannabis Now Magazine

Last week, President Obama was quoted in New Yorker magazine establishing that he indirectly feels marijuana is not dangerous enough to be considered a Schedule I controlled substance, “As has been well-documented, I smoked pot as a kid, and I view it as a bad habit and a vice, not very different from the cigarettes that I smoked as a young person up through a big chunk of my adult life. …I don’t think it is more dangerous than alcohol.”

Although many see this as progress, it is not enough, especially from a former editor of the Harvard Law Review, a trained lawyer and professional writer. Barack Obama knows the difference between facts and opinions, for him to make such a statement is the opposite of progress and should not be celebrated because knows better.

In that singular statement, Obama compared cannabis use to two legal vice products, alcohol and tobacco. Let’s look at some quick facts about those two substances as compared to cannabis use:

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), approximately 88,000 people die every year due to excessive alcohol use making it the “third leading lifestyle-related cause of death in the nation.” Short-term effects of alcohol use include: dehydration, violence, traffic injuries and deaths, accidental death, impaired judgment, sexually transmitted diseases, miscarriage, stillbirth and fetal defects in pregnant women and alcohol poisoning. Long-term health risks include dementia, stroke, neuropathy, social problems, psychiatric problems, cancers of the mouth, throat, esophagus, liver and breasts, hepatitis, cirrhosis of the liver and gastrointestinal problems.

Now lets take a look at tobacco. Also according to the CDC, cigarette smoking causes one in every five deaths in the United States each year, claiming approximately 440,000 lives directly and about 50,000 from second-hand smoke inhalation every year making it the leading cause of preventable death in the country. Short-term effects include yellowed teeth, nails and skin, decreased immunity, shortness of breath and respiratory difficulties. Long-term effects include coronary heart disease, a variety of cancers, premature aging, stillbirth, low birth-weight, heart attacks, strokes, blood clots, sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and decreased bone density.

Both alcohol and tobacco are legal because we tolerate their widespread use. We tolerate their widespread use because we know prohibition only creates dangerous black markets and that education is a more valuable tool in managing these dangers. The prohibition of these substances would be more dangerous than permitting them. Many people can use these products casually and cause no harm to themselves or others. Furthermore, we enjoy the windfall of taxes both products generate because the market will bear a higher price for these luxury items.

Obama would also know, if he did his due diligence before making such an ignorant statement, that the “dangers” of cannabis are in no way comparable to either alcohol or tobacco. Approximately 0 people die of marijuana overdoses annually. Short-term effects of cannabis use include red eyes, dry mouth, increased appetite, distorted sense of time, paranoia and slowed reaction time. There are no proven negative long-term effects of cannabis use, however more and more studies are proving the positive effects of long-term use for people suffering form cancer, Multiple Sclerosis (MS), Dementia, Crohn’s Disease, Glaucoma, and many more fatal and chronic illnesses.

When juxtaposed with alcohol and tobacco, Obama’s statement would be laughable if it wasn’t so willfully ignorant. He continued on to say “It’s not something I encourage, and I’ve told my daughters I think it’s a bad idea, a waste of time, not very healthy.” What kind of example is Mr. Obama setting for his daughters when he makes such sweeping statements and policy decisions based on opinions rather than facts? Legislating by opinion rather than fact is also how we ended up with slavery, Jim Crow Laws, a war in Iraq, alcohol prohibition and the availability of gun sales without a background check.

It’s more than disappointing; it’s frightening that Obama would make such statements propagating blatant misinformation when so many people can benefit from the economic boom of legalization and hemp production and the plethora of medical applications available from the cannabis plant.

Tell us your thoughts in the comments below. 

Bravery or Bull? Obama’s Stance on Legalizing Marijuana Moves Us Forward

 

Angela Bacca is a San Francisco Bay Area-based writer, journalist, photographer and medical cannabis patient. She has been published in a wide variety of print and digital publications including Cannabis Now Magazine, Alternet, SFCritic Music Blog, Skunk Magazine, West Coast Cannabis, Cannabis Culture Magazine, Ladybud Magazine and Opposing Views, among others. She has a Bachelor's in Journalism from San Francisco State University and a Master's in Business Administration from Mills College.

92 Comments

  1. Xxx Poufiasse

    May 7, 2014 at 12:32 am

    Oո va die quue ce n’est pas erroné !!

  2. kenny

    January 29, 2014 at 3:51 am

    Whats your complaint again? Sheesh good job Mr. President! The writer’s tripping!

  3. lsaac

    January 29, 2014 at 2:42 am

    am lsaac from ghana i smoked weed for years now and i don,t make troubles but any time i drink much i do stupid things and say things i should not any time i smoke it get,s me calm sometimes feel like been alone makes me eat makes me laugh so when you are two in number or more and you smoked weed together all you think about is making it in life or say things that will make you laugh weed smokers are not thief’s nor arm rubbers in Ghana you the police chase after weed smokers beat them do all lots of harm to some one who smokes weed just to make happy it very good barack obama brought these issue out

  4. Jeffery Allen

    January 28, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    Come on Obama you the president of the United States of America it does no harm to legalize pot it helps illnesses and it would profit tons of taxes for the us government it would not hurt at all you should totally think about legalizing it in Kentucky just for alittle bit to show the government how much money y’all will profit for pot in Kentucky please thank you

  5. Kevtember

    January 28, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    In my opinion, I do not believe the president meant any harm. It seems like he may be trying to help the progression of the movement to legalize the plant, so many are trying to get accomplished. And yes in my opinion, cannabis should be legalized for all of it uses.

    Creating more jobs. From growers to small businesses for sales. The public will need somewhere to purchase it. For production, we will need to have crops handlers (in which there is a college in Colorado to earn your degree in producing the plant.)

    The possibilities of this wonderful plant are endless.

    The medicinal affects are incredible, I use it myself for epilepsy, fibromyalgia, chronic pain disorder, leukocytosis, severe nausea, degenerative disc and joint disease. It helps with all of these. Without it I can not function.

    I do know a few people who use it for recreational use and to me it’s fine because they are generally very docile people. Easy going, productive, caring, creative, and so much more.

    We could knock out the deficit in no time at all. Saving our country from bankruptcy. The people who use this plant wouldn’t have the fear of going to jail for simply smoking with a friend over a cup of coffee. And like in Amsterdam we could have smoke/coffee houses (also creating jobs and businesses.)

    It would be great for the environment, we wouldn’t need to destroy so many forests. Creating more oxygen to our ozone, helping with the damages of factories and other damaging factors.

    As you can tell I am a huge supporter of the legalization of the plant, and to me yes it is a plant not created in a lab somewhere but simply a plant.

    STOP THE MADNESS AND LEGALIZE IT ALREADY.

  6. Laura M.

    January 28, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    People die EVERYDAY from alcohol & tobacco. Has anybody ever died from weed? NO. There is absolutely nothing bad about weed. Imagine how much better the world would be if everybody smoked weed. It makes you happy & giggly .. & extremely hungry. It brings people together. Alcohol does the same, but it also makes you angry & mean .. & it makes you fight with people & physically fight people. It makes you get in your car & cause you to close one eye to be able to stop seeing double .. until you run into that guy on the bike, or that woman with her kids in the backseat. And you kill them. You could ruin hundreds of peoples lives in a matter of seconds. Who’s life is weed ruining? Probably that old miserable, retired b**** who has nothing better to do with her time than argue about something she apparently knows nothing about. Weed saves lives. Look at Bob Marley. In my eyes, he was one of the most amazing people. Listen to his music. He was all about peace & love & smoking weed. He smoked massive amounts of weed & he was such a great person. People look up to him. Now, take a look at that guy who drinks massive amounts of alcohol. Every single day he drinks, & he’s a nasty person. He’s belligerent, annoying, smells like crap, he’s embarrassing to himself & the people who hang around him, he’s always fighting & eventually, he’ll be that guy on the street begging for change because he has nobody. Moral of my story is .. legalize weed! It ain’t hurtin nobody. It’s helping people. Everybody should smoke! Nothing bad will come out of it. Never has, never will.

  7. gary

    January 28, 2014 at 11:42 am

    I think we should make It legal and make r biggest export cannabis And supply the world with the sticky icky goodness and it would end war put ur gun down take a hit and lets talk about it I’m down here in fl hopeing the be the first southern State to make it legal wish us luck down here in the sunshine state FL

  8. Nathan Brown

    January 28, 2014 at 11:11 am

    You know if marijuana was legal then crime would go down, everyone would be happy. And taxing it would just bring in so much money, More money than alcohol or cigs.

  9. Jennifer Kerley

    January 28, 2014 at 10:13 am

    I’m sure Obama meant no harm. He is meaning alcohol and tobacco are legal. Why not weed? I’m a proud canibus lover. Your right nobody high ever died from its use. BUT thee government has killers legal. So give that man a break. He truly has A LOT on his plate. Canibus is legal here so I thank him.!

    • Angela

      January 28, 2014 at 11:52 am

      ‘m a person who smokes cannabis,I had female cancer,I came up positive again in 2013,they got it before it got worse.I think smoking cannabis has saved my life 2times, still usesit for my Fibermalaga,I believe its not worse because I’m a cannabis smoker!It should be legalized!

  10. Chuck

    January 28, 2014 at 9:33 am

    Hell, if it gets me a job and all my friends who can not even pass a drug test. Sure why not? I bet half the unemployed are not owning up to there aspects of getting a job, because they can not pass a drug test and love there weed. As far as i see this is true for me in ohio. All my friends are addicted and wont quit, im 26 years old now looking back on my life realizing wtf, i should of gave this stuff up along time ago and got my life on track. Now look at me, quit for a week just so i can get into CDL driving. Would be nice if i could come home after work everyday and take a few hits off out a pipe to help me sleep nights. Would give me more of a reason to actually want to goto work. I love this stuff myself, and its a hard think to give up for some like me.

  11. Crystal

    January 28, 2014 at 9:00 am

    Your degrading obama for his intelligence in the matter of marijuana but obama is saying its harmful affects are over exaggurated and is less damaging to the individual. This is the smartest thing hes ever said and your still not happy with what hes saying. Get a life

  12. Antonio Dan

    January 28, 2014 at 8:54 am

    Legal weed = MONSANTO

  13. Keidra greene

    January 28, 2014 at 8:19 am

    Weed needs to be legal. I have no faith in our government if weed is not legal in the next year.

    • Angie Johnson

      January 28, 2014 at 12:08 pm

      I agree with you Keidra. I have many friends and some family that would benefit fron this Natural Plant…

  14. Charles

    January 28, 2014 at 6:29 am

    Actually it’s been proven that marijuana is a lot less harmful to the body than alcohol. That fact got proven in the 90’s so where this reporter is getting it’s an opinion not fact is completely retarded.

    • Datrebor

      January 28, 2014 at 7:25 pm

      Who knows where he thinks this fact is an opinion. Its one the few things Obama has gotten right. People had OD and died from Alcohol and you can’t from weed. You can smoke for years and be ok but if you drink for yrears you can kill your liver.

  15. Bates

    January 28, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Obama just letting you know that if you going to legalize alcohol and tobacco and they known to kill you why not legalize something that heals

    • Angie Johnson

      January 28, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      Good Point. I Agree

  16. bill

    January 28, 2014 at 4:53 am

    Legalise cannabis worldwide

  17. whisper

    January 28, 2014 at 2:08 am

    Haha fuck I was waiting for this xD

  18. jester kane

    January 28, 2014 at 1:39 am

    Ok I’m from New York state we be the 21 state to useit for medical use but iI think it’s should be legal cause our crime will go down and other stuff

  19. Joseph Calderon

    January 28, 2014 at 1:29 am

    Think about it, if it’s legalized, people would do more smoking than drinkin which would cause less deaths in America. I’m not all for it but I’d like to see people live on and not lose friends and family over people drinking so I’m with the legalization of marijuana.

  20. J

    January 27, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    Processed sugar is highly addictive and worse for your long term and short term health than cannabis!!

  21. Tony

    January 27, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    I smoke cigs and use to drink and i can feel the effects of both of them weed is a great “Drug” no side effects no deaths nothing really major but you get hungry a Lil sleepy and just want to chill example when you drunk you do very stupid thing drive rob a bank etc look at all the put in cigs and alcohol weed is pure strait from the earth like the fruits and vegetable we eat everyday and i hope they not trying to compare weed to that spice weed cause that was made of other things and chemicals so USA i say make it legal and stop the nonsense

  22. Dustin Fuller

    January 27, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Yes Obama yes Marijauna should be LEGAL I have an Aunt that has cancer and I seen her go through so much pain she could barely even eat and you know I thought that maybe if Marijauna was Legal she wouldn’t be in so much pain so yes please LEGALIZE Marijauna please!!!

  23. Phillipe Propst

    January 27, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    And no talk it sould be Legalizes need to be Legalizes go ahed Legalizes is of THE HOLE U.S.A thoes hater need to shut up and smoke one it time for is LEGALIZES the dranking and the smoking cig is legalizes but thoes r the ones will kill people but weed don’t kill people no anytime it make you calm down and hyp you up to PRESIDENT OBAMA is telling the true and he don’t the right thing please get it LEGALIZES OBAMA FOR U.S.A!! :-)

  24. Sandra Harvey-Aiken

    January 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Hemp is the same plant as marijuana, its scientific name is “cannabis sativa.” For thousands of years hemp was used to make dozens of commercial products like paper, rope, canvas, and textiles. In fact, the very name “canvas” comes from the Dutch word meaning cannabis, which is marijuana. That’s correct, real canvas is made from marijuana!

    Many years ago hemp/marijuana was unjustly banned. However, hemp has recently been rediscoverd as a plant that has enormous environmental, economic, and commercial potential. What follows are some fascinating facts about hemp/marijuana – facts that will shock most people:

    The potential of hemp for paper production is enormous. According to the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, one acre of hemp can produce 4 times more paper than one acre of trees! All types of paper products can be produced from hemp: newsprint, computer paper, stationary, cardboard, envelopes, toilet paper, even tampons.

    FACT: THERE IS NO TREE OR PLANT SPECIES ON EARTH CAPABLE OF PRODUCING AS MUCH PAPER PER ACRE AS HEMP! HEMP IS NUMBER ONE!

    Paper production from hemp would eliminate the need to chop down BILLIONS of trees! MILLIONS of acres of forests and huge areas of wildlife habitat could be preserved.

    Trees must grow for 20 to 50 years after planting before they can be harvested for commercial use. Within 4 months after it is planted, hemp grows 10 to 20 feet tall and it is ready for harvesting! Hemp can be grown on most farmland throughout the U.S., where forests require large tracts of land available in few locations. Substituting hemp for trees would save forests and wildlife habitats and would eliminate erosion of topsoil due to logging. Reduction of topsoil erosion would also reduce pollution of lakes/rivers/streams.

    Fewer caustic and toxic chemicals are used to make paper from hemp than are used to make paper from trees – LESS POLLUTION!

    Hemp can also be substituted for cotton to make textiles. Hemp fiber is 10 times stronger than cotton and can be used to make all types of clothing. Cotton grows only in warm climates and requires enormous amounts of water. Hemp requires little water and grows in all 50 states! There are now many stores in the U.S. that sell hemp-derived products such as clothing, paper, cheese, soap, ice cream, cosmetics, and hemp oil. Demand for these products – not even in existence in 1992 – is growing rapidly.

    Hemp naturally repels weed growth and hemp has few insect enemies. Few insect enemies and no weed problems means hemp requires NO HERBICIDES and FEW or NO PESTICIDES!

    Cotton requires enormous pesticide use. 50% of all pesticides used in the U.S. are used on cotton. Substituting hemp for cotton would drastically reduce pesticide usage!

    Hemp produces twice as much fiber per acre as cotton! An area of land only 25 miles by 25 miles square (the size of a typical U.S. county) planted with hemp can produce enough fiber in one year to make 100 MILLION pair of denim jeans! A wide variety of clothing made from 100% hemp (pants, denim jeans, jackets, shoes, dresses, shorts, hats) is now available.

    Building materials that substitute for wood can be made from hemp. These wood-like building materials are stronger than wood and can be manufactured cheaper than wood from trees. Using these hemp- derived building materials would reduce building costs and save even more trees!

    Hemp seeds are a source of nutritious high-protien oil that can be used for human and animal consumption. Hemp oil is NOT intoxicating. Extracting protein from hemp is less expensive than extracting protein from soybeans. Hemp protein can be processed and flavored in any way soybean protein can. Hemp oil can also be used to make highly nutritious tofu, butter, cheese, salad oils, and other foods. Hemp oil can also be used to produce paint, varnish, ink, lubricating oils, and plastic susbstitues. Because 50% of the weight of a mature hemp plant is seeds, hemp could become a significant source for these products.

    Most hemp-derived products are NONTOXIC, BIODEGRADABLE, and RENEWABLE!

    Unlike virtually all hemp substitutes, growing hemp requires very little effort and very few resources. Most substitutes for hemp (sisal, kenaf, sugar cane) grow in limited geographical areas and none have the paper/fiber potential of hemp. Hemp can be grown in all 50 states!

    Unlike many crops, hemp puts little strain on the soil and requires only moderate amounts of fertilizer. Less fertilizer use results in less runoff into waterways and groundwater; therefore, less water pollution.

    Hemp produces more biomass than any plant that can be grown in the U.S. This biomass can be converted to fuel in the form of clean-burning alcohol, or no-sulphur man-made coal. Hemp has more potential as a clean and renewable energy source than any crop on earth! It is estimated that if hemp was widely grown in the U.S. for fuel/energy, it could supply 100% of all U.S. energy needs!

    Marijuana has dozens of proven medicinal uses. Marijuana is more effective, less toxic, and less expensive than alternative synthetic medicines currently used. A recent poll revealed that over 50% of U.S. physicians would prescribe marijuana to their patients if it was legally available. People who suffer from arthritis, AIDS, rheumatism, leukimia, multiple sclerosis, cancer, glauocoma, and other ailments can benefit from marijuana as medicine. But because of our insane marijuana laws, people in need of this medicine are denied it. Marijuana is classified by the U.S. government as a dangerous drug with no medicinal value, a classification that is absolutely ludicrous! Marijuana is widely accepted by the medical community as having numerous proven medicinal uses – it is NOT a dangerous drug.

    Hemp for rope, lubricating oil, shoe material, and other materials was in such short supply during World War II that the U.S. government temporarily re-legalized hemp so U.S. farmers could grow it for the war effort. Hemp helped us win World War II! Hemp was a common crop that was grown legally in the U.S. for commercial use until 1937.

    Hemp was NOT banned because it was a harmful drug. Hemp was banned because it was a competitive threat to the wood products industry and newly developed synthetic fibers that were patentable, and therefore more profitable than hemp. Corporations that profited from the demise of hemp propagated a smear campaign against hemp by claiming that marijuana use was a major drug problem (it was not) and that marijuana use caused people to become extremely violent – another falsehood. Unfortunately, these false claims went unchallenged and Congress outlawed hemp in 1937. Unfortunately, millions of Americans still believe the lies spread about marijuana/hemp.

    On the eve of marijuana prohibition in the U.S., two articles about hemp appeared in major U.S. magazines. They were:

    “The Most Profitable And Desireable Crop That Can Be Grown” From: Mechanical Engineering, February 26, 1937

    “New Billion Dollar Crop” From: Popular Mechanics, February 1938

    These articles reveal that hemp was on the verge of becoming a super crop because of new hemp processing technologies that were recently developed. Unfortunately, the potential of hemp was never reaped because of marijuana prohibition.

    Hemp is legally grown for commercial use throughout much of Europe, India, China, Russia, Ukraine. In 1994 the Canadian government approved one experimental hemp field – its first legal hemp crop in 40 years. In 1995, there will be 11 government-approved hemp fields in Canada! If the U.S. does not legalize hemp for commercial use, a significant economic and environmental opportunity will be lost; the benefits will be reaped only by our economic competitors.

    >Literally millions of wild hemp plants grow throughout the entire Midwest today. Wild hemp, like hemp grown for commercial use, is USELESS as an intoxicant. It makes no sense to ban growing a plant that has enormous economic and environmental potential, grows naturally by the millions, and is impossible to exterminate. But yet, our draconian drug laws state that one acre of hemp grown on a person’s property can result in the owner being sentenced to DEATH! That’s correct, the DEATH PENALTY exists for growing one acre of nonintoxicating weeds!

    U.S. Presidents and founding fathers George Washington and Thomas Jefferson grew hemp, used hemp products, and were hemp advocates. Today’s political leaders–as well as the public that favors marijuana prohibition–would treat George Washington and Thomas Jefferson with disdain, brand them criminals, and throw them in prison!

    FACT: NO TREE OR PLANT SPECIES ON EARTH HAS THE COMMERCIAL, ECONOMIC, AND ENVIRONMENTAL POTENTIAL OF HEMP. OVER 30,000 KNOWN PRODUCTS CAN BE PRODUCED FROM HEMP!

    “Make the most of the hemp seed, sow it everywhere.” – George Washington, first president of the U.S. and hemp advocate.

  25. freddy

    January 27, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    I’m not an American citizen but I support the legalization of Cannabis use because its benefits far outweigh it side effects. I’m from the Pacific islands and weed has been used even without its legalization so why stop it. But if it were legal, so many people would benefit from it and those against it will begin to realize they have been played by their government. The notion set in place by governments that it is an illegal drug is criminal, because the people have been brainwashed into believing tobacco and alcohol is safer than cannabis. I don’t deny smoking cigarettes or drinking alcohol but I know for a fact weed is nowhere near as life threatening as those two substances. I would love my government to legalize cannabis and I hope your government takes that step as well. Uruguay’s done it…why not the rest of the world.

  26. kris jane

    January 27, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    i guess i just dont understand the complaint. true, his statement was stated in the form of an opinion, however his opinion is suopported by the facts! i feel he was simply stating that he agrees with the facts, marijuana is not as harmful as ciggs and alcohol. hence the words “no more harmful”

  27. kyhan

    January 27, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    Everyone on here agrees to legalize marijuana.lets make it happen.

  28. Tywan

    January 27, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    I disagree with the author of this article based on the fact that Obama was not being ignorant in comparing cannabis to alcohol and tobacco. In-fact I think you are the ignorant one if you dont realize that he was saying that its “NOT” as dangerous as alcohol or tobacco. That”s exactly what your “FACTS” just proved. I feel fair to assume you just dont like Obama and are looking for any excuse to bash him. Really…..I do agree however, with thought that marajuana should be legalized.

  29. Casper

    January 27, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    Say no to cigs and alcohol and yes to weed

    • Nisi

      January 27, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      Nothing wrong with marijuana no one has died from it….n slowed reaction? In certain situations yeah but you’re more paranoid something will go wrong and you try to be more careful……been there.

  30. Ashley

    January 27, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    Maby if weed was legalized those two major #s everyone keeps putting out ther about how many ppl die due to alcohol n tobacco wouldn’t be as high. Most ppl who drink n smoke tobacco would prefer a joint but can’t because it’s against the law to relax without long or short term negative affects. Just sayin

  31. waltingbrook

    January 27, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    BigUps To The Lrgalization of marijuana

  32. William

    January 27, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    Yes yes it shuld be ligle not just for the smokers but for the hole usa so ower goverment can get us out of debt and to help save ower trees and stuff you can make papper clothing all kinds of stuff the vehicles that e drive today about 50 % of the fabric in them is made out of himp the stuff under the hoods and in the seats and dash and headliner if the goverment would liglelize it in all of the usa we would be out od debt and the goverment would make a lot of money back that thay lost in this past wore and from the others if the goverment would liglelize canabis for just 1 year to see how it gose thay need to do it if it dont work out like thay would like it to then stop it hell thay are the goverment that can stop it just as fast as thay started it i bet you you wount be diseponted

  33. taylor

    January 27, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    Weed needs to be in tenneesseee(:::

    • brian

      January 27, 2014 at 11:28 pm

      He’ll yea bring that shit to Indiana to

    • Chelsea

      January 28, 2014 at 5:07 am

      legalization will make a better nation, it aint like people stop smokin cause its illegal.

  34. DeDe

    January 27, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    Ummmm he compared weed to alcohol & tobacco cause they can cause many bad affects & r dangerous but they r legal & weed doesnt have the same affect @ all idt he said anything wrong all that info that was put under his statement to me proves him more right & how is he setting a bad example cause he says its nothing really wrong with it but he told his daughters not to smoke it so what he dont want them to smoke it r u mad sex its bad for u if u use protection but we still teach our kids not to have it

    • Colt

      January 28, 2014 at 6:35 am

      I’m in agreance I dont think he was trying to put it down really just trying to state hey if these two things are legal than why should this be illegal. but you know people they will get a bug up their ass about anything these days instead of being happy that he’s trying to support the cause truth is not everyone approves of smoking it but even non-smokers dont see a big deal with it

    • Alliesha

      January 28, 2014 at 6:52 am

      Wow ! Very well said !!!

  35. joseph romero

    January 27, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    in my opinion i think the obamas statement was a little off to compare something like weed to alcohol and tobacco when their clearly no side effects with weed but there are no major side effects and i think it should be legal because look at it from this point they dont wont to legalize somethink that can be good for you but yet they legalized stuff like tabaco and alcohol that can kill you so with that being said legalize cannabis

  36. Christine

    January 27, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    I think it’s bull. Without research how can you compair cannabis to the two leading causes of death due to lifestyle.

    • Nisi

      January 27, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      You can I know people who have smoked weed for YEARS and there’s no problem. But they’ used things like a vaporizer or pipe. All that smoke is bad for ur lungs added with paper or cigar wraps.

    • Angela Bacca

      January 28, 2014 at 8:41 am

      Christine,

      The notion that there is no research or not enough research about cannabis to make an accurate comparison is a myth. Check out the International Cannabinoid Research Society (just to start!): http://www.icrs.co/

      The research exists, in fact there are piles of it around the world. The important thing is getting it to our politicians, who apparently don’t like to read much.

      -Angela

  37. Anette

    January 27, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    This is the beginning to a new era. An era where we won’t have to see our loved ones on pain. Where “lighting one up” isn’t frowned apon. Tobacco sure wasn’t frowned apon until the marijuana users rose up.

  38. Kay Jordan

    January 27, 2014 at 2:17 pm

    As it states alcohol & cigarettes hve had so many deaths & marijuana has zero. O please to the person who is being negative about his statement. You need 2 hit a dutch 1 time & I bet you’ll change your whole outlook.

  39. heather

    January 27, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    Cannabis is no comparison to achoal or cigs
    You can become an addict of both of thoose

  40. Chris

    January 27, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    Me personally i think marijuana should be legalized because it cures people an plus it has less dangerous side effects but on the other hand tobacco and alchol have life threatning effects so to finish up Barak Obama is right so would you just shut up and LEGALIZE WEED

  41. Billy

    January 27, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    What should it matter how the president says it? Shouldn’t the focus be on what he said, or what he meant by what he said? He is the President, but he is also just another man afterall. I wouldn’t be too quick to make any snobby snarky remarks for either side of this argument. People argue and bitch too much. Not everything in this world has to be a pissing contest, and because we all make it out to be that way the world is ever closer to total destruction. People seriously need to chill. Especially on the weed subject. I’m pro-legal and honestly think that having moral issues with it being legal is fine, but people should all learn to keep opinions private, and if not private be more civil. Anyone can beat their arms on their chest and make loud noises that can’t be ignored. More people should be willing to be respectful on topics such as these. If your opinion is different than someone else’s, stop trying to convert them to your side, or anyone else for that matter. I think the ones who are the most aggressive and by far the most unpleasant to be around are those who are opposed to legalization, but idiots come in all breeds.

  42. AHMAD

    January 27, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Big up to you ßarack! Nice one….

  43. bella wilson

    January 27, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    look at the tax money alone on one day in Colorado should speek for itself we complain about.deficete well legal and each state can make good money from taxes alone

  44. Jose Linares

    January 27, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    Honestly, weed should be legalized.first of all its an all natural plant.it does people alot of good.it helps in so many ways.everyone should stop looking at it as a drug and do themselves some research on cannabis.

  45. Gabe

    January 27, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Cannabis has never killed anyone, but tobacco and alcohol products have. Why sell a product that kills people when u can sales cannabis and tax it and make all your profit. Crime rate will go down, and deaths would stop dramatically. Start a better year on on less deaths and crime. Plus the fact that cannabis is used in hemp products and it cures people if there semptumes. Legalize it!!!

  46. Mohau

    January 27, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    Cannabis can’t be compared to the substances that he mentioned above. Herb & drugs aren’t the same & I suggest he also rectifies that ‘cos that also bad names weed! That’s bravery & Jacob Zuma isn’t even brave enough to just legalize a certain amount of it & sell it while he tax it ‘cos that is what the system is about mos

  47. Lucky Te Waata Campbell

    January 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    I believe that everything deserves a fair chance, all the facts literally speak for themselves, maybe with even a few that may have been left out. People need to remember that everyone is different, cannabis has different effects on different peopl
    . I don’t smoke it and I wouldn’t really want to endorse it but, I do feel that it is still a very underestimated plant. In old times the Indians Tribes had used it for most of there lives and yet were found to be one of the most healhtiest, resourceful and very strong minded people and so to were the Mayans Inca Tribes. Their is so much to be said and so much that can be done other than waisting so much energy on a substance that isn’t really that dangerous. Billions of dollars is spent every year around the world just to stop the growth and trafficking of the substance when that money could certainly be put more to a better use. Our world is in danger, not from marijuana and not so much from the alcohol and cigerrets but more from the hunger of starving children and their families in this world, that and I quote is the real danger and that I believe is where all those billions of dollars need to be spent, if this was done I believe that our world would be a far better place.

    Thank you: L.T.Campbell

  48. ron

    January 27, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    I SMOKE AND I DRINK CANADIAN WHISKEY AND I SMOKE WEED I HAVE NO ILL EFFECTS LEGALIZE IT THE SO CALLED GOVERMENT WILL TAX IT LIKE EVERTHING ELSE

  49. Heidi

    January 27, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    I don’t understand why people say it has a side effect of paranoia, it doesn’t unless its laced with something other than weed itself. Weed alone won’t cause paranoia, the fear of getting caught by anyone that could get you in trouble is what makes people paranoid. It actually relaxes your muscles and mind when your coming down so much that it makes it easier to fall asleep. But thats only if your wanting to fall asleep. I think it should be legalized and taxed just like everything else. And decriminalize it so that the people that are in prison get out for anything to do with marijuana.

    • Colt

      January 28, 2014 at 6:39 am

      depends on the person just like to some people it’s not addictive but to some it can be

  50. Chelsea murray

    January 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    Obama is very brave for makeing that statement. I agree that marijuana is a good medicene yes medicene. It helps pain, keep food down, its proven that a woman who smokes marijuana that is pregnant that the child is more alert nd responcive when born. I belive it should be legalized nd decriminalized . As well as all the people who are in jail for pot should be released creating more room for murderers nd sex offenders. We pay tax money to keep them behind bars when they simply did NOTHING wrong

  51. marci

    January 27, 2014 at 1:37 pm

    Bravery

  52. zach

    January 27, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Marijuana is more safe than alcohol AND tobacco. They have both killed many many people anf the one thing that helps peoples problems and cures the horrible disease called cancer is illegal. America puts cancer patients on weed and most of them get too live a very happy life because they beat cancer. Most of my familu has died of cancer and the ones that havent,smoke weed… and if it was a gateway drug id be doing meth heroin and who knows what else but im just a proud pot smoker who will support till its legalized and even after. Thank you for reading. Goodbye and have a nice day

  53. Richie penaloza

    January 27, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    I personally think cannabis isn’t harmful in anyway . Iknow quite a few people who have cancer and smoke , and they say it relieves the pain and it slows the cancerous process . So in my opinion cannabis should be legalized because at least it doesn’t kill thousands of people a year like tobacco & alcohol.

  54. doener

    January 27, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    He is saying that its harmful and he has bigger issues to fucking worry about like the whole entire fucking economy weed is his last of worries he tells his kids it’s a waste of time and stupid but obviously it won’t kill them he just wants to legalize and get it over with cuz its fucking annoying

  55. james

    January 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    I think that obama should wake up I hope he realizes that the legalization of marijuana would help the U.S so much it could get us out of debt.the real reason its not legalized is because the tobacco, alcohol, and the health corporation s would possibly lose money but trust me the amout of money cannabis would make would destroy the numbers tobacco alchol and health corperations would make.

  56. Clarence Delaney

    January 27, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    With cannabis legal, their would be less violence from drug cartels. And more, income from taxes les people in prisons. And wouldn’t cost to keep, nonviolent people in prison.

  57. mike

    January 27, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    Brave and it’s legit. So many people were ok with alcohol and vignettes because it gave gangsters power and authority on black market. Yet so many people die from it. So why the fuck should we say no to weed. Let it go let us have the right to enjoy a drug that isn’t as harmful like alcohol. Take a lot of power away from cartel if u take away the weed game from them . And tax it see how much money the Country makes

  58. Praise Marijuana

    January 27, 2014 at 1:11 pm

    Marijuana is not just for recreational purposes as it actually helps people medicinally. Just ask a number of folks who use it to help relieve pain. Why is a plant that grows in the ground illegal anyway??

  59. Gerard Doyle

    January 22, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    Keep me posted. send me alerts! Thanks!

  60. Steve balsamo

    January 22, 2014 at 12:39 pm

    Go gonga lol

  61. rex

    January 22, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    I was with you until you brought guns in to the pic.2nd should have know restriction except for felons. live free or die MAN

  62. james

    January 22, 2014 at 10:26 am

    wish i could see it legal before i die so i can stop giving my $$$$ to a bunch of dope dealers

  63. Brent

    January 22, 2014 at 9:32 am

    I agree his statement is not very informative but I don’t think that was his goal with this statement was to literally compare the substances I think he was just trying to tell americans that if they tolerate these other vise substances they should tolerate cannabis . I agree he wasnt exactly promoting it but I disagree that he is making a literal comparison. Furthermore I do not support Obama but I do support decriminalization and or legalization of cannabis in all forms.

  64. Roquemore

    January 22, 2014 at 9:09 am

    So where in his statement did his comment seem ignorant? He pointed out true facts, true facts that alcohol and tobacco is the leading cause of death and that people die or suffer long term health issues. where marijuana has no causes for either of the fore-mentioned.Zero overdoses for this plant. If this plant is so bad, then why are they giving it to cancer patients? You peoples heads are so twisted..Just always wanna say an educated black man is and will always be ignorant in your eyes.. SMH !! I do agree that a lot of people abuse the use of this plant.. But with that plant you can manufacture it so that will not have the THC that causes the HIGH and slows you down. You can make a numerous amount of things from it..From clothes to baskets and etc. So in other words you are the one that is IGNORANT !! Dummy !!

  65. Emmm

    January 22, 2014 at 9:05 am

    There aren’t any alcohol or tobacco receptors in the body.

    There are however numerous cannabinoid receptors in body.

    I think that fact alone should bring decriminalization. More people are capable of using cannabis within “reason” than alcohol and tobacco.

    I am just so saddened by this situation. My grandmother in law just died of lung cancer. It could have been treated differently. I am so exhausted from hearing about people losing their lives just because our twisted system can’t care more about the well being of the people than how much money they can generate by total control pharmecuticals. It is truly heartbreaking.

  66. Mike 420

    January 22, 2014 at 6:57 am

    I think its a great idea ! Finally we have legitimate facts about cannabis and the truth that it helps rather than kill or overdose ! Look at colorado for example $1 million dollars in its first week with numbers like that we could clear the debt we r in and restore the economy back to its normal way ! I hope so because it helps me in all areas .

    • MEDIA GOV. WHAT ARE YOU HIDING

      January 27, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      Thanks Mike 420 for stating this, but the facts which were located in the article are overlooked by politicians as well as lot of the media. It shows who is truly ignorant. I watched a interview in which they stated that it was made illegal because of racism. However it wasn’t any hard evidence upon why it was made illegal, but I think that it had a lot to do with it. I think they are able to make a lot of money on keeping it illegal and overlooking the facts that it could eliminate the US debt which is raised trillion of dollars each year. As well as help a lot of health issues. Tobacco and alcohol has a lot of warning labels as well as “medicine”. I’ve never heard of a warning label for pot; WARNING POT CAUSES RED EYES AND THE MUNCHIES. I think they should legalize it, not saying that every drug should be, but when you do research on something and can’t find any reason to state why its illegal the question from me becomes what are they trying to hide.

  67. mike bowman

    January 22, 2014 at 5:22 am

    Idiot,have YOU ever smoked marijuana? You don’t know shit! Alcohol kills…pot does NOT!

  68. Austin

    January 22, 2014 at 12:51 am

    I love the birds them ,the birds love the Rasta , we reap marijuana together.ITS A HOLY HERB!

  69. Tharon

    January 21, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    It help me with every thing

  70. Tharon Cowart

    January 21, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    Cannabis should be alowd to i us it and if i didnt i wouldnt be abill to consitrat on eny thing my nieves bother me bad i cant help but to sit in my room all day all Night Long but when i u cannabis it helps me a lot it help my manike depresint go away like pills dont help at all

  71. manu

    January 21, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    unfortunately the press is uneducated they’re unable to call him on it.

  72. Lisa

    January 21, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    Just legalize it already.

    • Leon Ramjit

      January 28, 2014 at 2:47 am

      He might’ve been trying to indirectly show his support for marijuana.

  73. Justin Michels

    January 21, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    When asked to clarify, President Obama did state that cannabis is less harmful than alcohol — the exact same argument being put forth by reform groups like MPP, NORML and LEAP. This is a major step forward and one he is getting a lot of flack from the prohibitionists about; so, why in the world are you decrying his honesty and evolving opinion about our failed drug war? The ONDCP and NIDA have lots of ‘scientific facts’ which his statements directly contradict, but are being reported as legitimate by various ‘news’ agencies…

    I agree this falls short of what the president can do to instigate real policy reform; but, maybe we should focus on reminding people his opinions are based on facts instead of dismissing his statements as laughably ignorant. Which they absolutely are not, in the context of our other (sadly delusional) government views on the matter.

  74. Jenz

    January 21, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    I have worked at the substance user association as a volunteer in Perth, Western Australia. I’ve seen the numbers and reports albeit concerning Australia yet it’s very much the same, around 30,000 people die from alcohol related causes each year, 18,000 from tobacco use die, and yet only 800 people die every year from ALL illegal drugs in Australia each year, that’s heroin, speed, extacy and pot. Why are the most damaging drugs legal and accepted but the one substance that has NEVER killed anyone by overdose, only lung cancer type diseases, is treated like an evil and dangerous substance???? We have major problems with alcohol related violence and nobody wants to blame alcohol. We should be able to choose what we get high on, I gave up drinking almost 15 years ago, I didn’t have a problem with abusing it, I was just fed up getting drunk, throwing up, not remembering what I did the night before, doing rediculous things I never would sober and hangovers. I will have a drink on special occasions but prefer weed. I fail to see how a substance that relaxes me, makes me giggly and laugh more, has helped me get an appetite and not be sick during 12 months of interferon therapy for hep c, which is harder to go thru than cheemo (according to a friend who lost both breasts to cancer), how can this be illegal?? We have legal synthetic pot that is much more dangerous for the body than pot, so why not legalise marijuana??? It would free up police time to solve real crimes, instead of arresting people whose only crime is to smoke pot. It’s not a gateway drug either, a majority of people I asked while working at a needle exchange, said they had smoked a cigarette, drank alcohol or both before smoking pot. The true gateway drugs are legal, pot should be legal everywhere. I hope more USA states follow Colarado because Australia always ends up following America… PLEASE can people in political positions able to do anything realise that the marijuana prohibition must end!!!

  75. Monica

    January 21, 2014 at 3:44 pm

    Just have a question. Does mary J cause short term memory loss for a certain amount of time after doing it?

  76. Mandy

    January 21, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    No it is a fact alcohol kills people Marijuana doesn’t. FACT

  77. Brian

    January 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Why even compare Cannabis Sativa L. to a poison called alcohol? Alcohol is the controlling SUBSTANCE. Cannabis is a plant and the major SUBSTANCE of concern is RESIN. Resins are composed of cannabinoids (such as THC and CBN) respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>